When is a Workaholic, truly a Workaholic? …

… when she’s sitting at her computer on a lovely sunny Sunday afternoon, working on her Director’s Vision Statement and outline for her documentary project, when she’s got two Christmas parties to go to – one of which she’s already late for. Hmmm. Gives you cause to pause for a moment and reflect on the laughable notion that people working as freelancers or independents in this industry have that mythical commodity known as “free time”. Just because we aren’t getting paid for for a specific project – yet – doesn’t mean that we don’t have any work to do on it.

I’m meant to have this document done by tomorrow morning – landing all shiny and new in my executive producer’s inbox by 9am – ready for him to assess (and probably ask for some “minor” changes that will take me another couple of days to complete, which I don’t begrudge, as we want the best possible investor’s document – obviously). So I face the quandary of walking away from the computer to go to these two functions for the next four to six hours, then coming back and working until the early hours of the morning, so losing even more sleep than I already have this week, or – foregoing the chance to hob-nob with my fellow arts industry colleagues, bemoaning the state of the industry in Melbourne and getting mildly soused on white wine and orange juice (or Scotch, which is my usual beverage of choice).

What’s making the decision even harder is that both these functions are industry-related. And, as we all know, networking is just as important as creating the perfect pitch document.

Actually, I’m trying to remember the last time I went out to a purely social function that wasn’t work-related …. give me a minute …. I’m sure there’s one I’ve been to in the last six months … nup, nothing comes to mind.

It probably doesn’t help that my partner is also in the industry (works as an AD), and that most of our friends also work in the industry in one capacity or another. In fact, I can think of only three of my closest friends that aren’t in the biz – one works in real estate (sensible girl!), one is in community social work (fascinating stories come out of his job!) and the other is a visual artist – which is almost the same thing – just working with paint instead of film. And I hardly get to see them anyway, as I’m usually at some industry function (or working) when they organise a dinner party or gathering!

So, I’m back to my original question – When is a Workaholic, truly a Workaholic?

I feel the answer’s pretty obvious –
When they work as an Independent in the Australian Arts & Entertainment Industry!

Leave a Reply

