“What a piece of work is man!

Sally McLeanHow noble in reason! how infinite in faculties! in form and moving, how express and admirable! in action how like an angel! in apprehension, how like a god! the beauty of the world! the paragon of animals!”

– Shakespeare (Hamlet)

I’m assuming that you get from the above quote that I’m feeling better.

It’s nearly three hours since I had two wisdom teeth out and I actually feel okay. I mean I still have a bit of gauze on standby in case it’s needed, but on the whole I’m surprised, and pleased at how painless and trouble-free it was. Sure, there’s a bit of an ache now the anesthetic’s worn off, but not nearly as bad as I imagined. No swelling yet, but I guess that will happen once the body realises I’ve had it vandalised somewhat and rushes to heal the damage.

The dental surgeon (who, thank all that’s holy, ‘scuse the pun, is a very skilled practitioner) managed a clean extraction of both teeth – and if there was any teeth breaking going on, I didn’t notice it.

And now that I’ve actually seen the teeth lying on the tray, I get what everyone’s been talking about in regards to how bad they were. Glad to have rid of them now. To be honest, the procedure was less painful than getting fillings – not that this comment is any reflection on my dentist (he’s a very skilled practitioner too), but a clean pull, as compared to what has to happen with filling a tooth, well, it’s less discomforting to have a clean pull of a tooth, let me put it that way.

The dental surgeon was so good I hadn’t even noticed he’d taken out my top wisdom tooth at the time. I thought he was just preparing to remove it when he said “well, that’s the first one done”. Amazing.

So now it’s a diet of ice-cream and soup for the next few days. I’m so impatient I want to be completely over it NOW , but that’s not going to happen just yet. So, without going too much into the details to spare others like me, the whole thing was done in 35 minutes and now I just have to take care of myself and the spaces that used to hold teeth until they heal over. (Salt water rinsing every couple of hours – starting tomorrow, no solid food for a few days, the usual – gosh, don’t I sound like an old hand at this now!).

Till next time, take care and if you’re having your wisdom teeth out, and they’re not impacted or too far gone, trust me, it’s not that bad. Well, it’s not that bad at the moment, I’ll let you know how I am tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

