Kidzapalooza update

For those who have been keeping up with this blog, you’ll know that I have a bit of a vested interest in the upcoming Kidzapalooza Festival in Chicago, USA (the family friendly version of the famous Lollapalooza rock festival, created by Perry Farrell and Tor Hyams), due to my being the Kidzapalooza web designer.

Now that I have that disclaimer out of the way, here’s a reminder for those who are going to be in the Chicago area over the next week or so – Kidzapalooza kicks off on August 1st and runs to August 3rd and it’s going to be an absolute blast!  They’ve got a great line up to entertain the kids (and their parents) including The Paul Green School Of Rock AllStars, Tiny Masters of Today, The Jimmies, Suzy Brack & the New Jack Lords and more.  They’ve also got some other special guest appearances from G Love, Perry Farrell, Jeff Tweedy, Rogue Wave and The John Butler Trio – who are going to perform some kiddie-friendly sets during their breaks from the Lollapalooza stage.

There’s also a raft of incredible activities to keep the little ones amused from workshops run by the Paul Green School of Rock to break dancing and hip hop workshops to creating your own musical instrument from recycled material to getting temporary tattoos and rock hair styles to giving kids the chance to record their own CD and have a professional photo shoot – just like a real rockstar!  And that’s just a sample of what’s on offer.

Sadly, I won’t be there to share in all the fun first-hand (as I’m in Melbourne, Australia), but if anyone who will be attending wants to send me updates – just get in touch!

That said, I am thinking about heading out to LA next year to be part of the inaugural Kidzapalooza LA stand-alone festival that is taking place at the Hollywood Bowl, Los Angeles on June 27, 2009.  With performers like Ziggy Marley and Gary Oldman – that is also promising to be one not to miss!

To find out all about what’s coming up at Kidzapalooza this year in Chicago, visit the official site: http://www.kidzapalooza.com/.  And you can see footage of the official Kidzapalooza Chicago artists line up announcement with Perry Farrell and Tor Hyams on You Tube here.

Oh, and in case you were wondering – this isn’t a paid advertisment – just an enthusiastic endorsement of a festival that I think is a brilliant idea.  That, and Tor is a friend.  /disclaimer.  *grin*


Digg!

2 thoughts on “Kidzapalooza update

  1. How does an Australian designer work on a US festival website? It’s a great site, don’t get me wrong – just wondering how you managed to score that gig.

  2. Hi Rachel,

    It’s a fair enough question. Basically, as I said in my post, I know the organizer. Have done for nearly ten years. Actually, the Kidzapalooza site is one of three sites I’ve done for him (the third site will be launched in a few weeks, which I’m very excited about).

    Really, it doesn’t matter where you are in the world, when it comes to the Internet, if your style as a designer fits with what someone wants, you don’t really have to be in the same city, let alone the same country, to successfully produce a website.

    I have a couple of web clients in LA and one in London as well, plus all my Australian clients (who are all around the country), so I guess I can call myself an international designer now!

    Cheers and thanks for your comment (and I’m glad you like the site),

    Sally

Leave a Reply

