Underworld, Harry Potter and other (very) good things

Okay, I’m about to reveal my somewhat geeky side here.  Or not.  Depending on your own predilictions.

Firstly, I’m very excited to get a sneak peek at some stills from the upcoming third installment of the “Underworld” series of films – “Underworld: Rise of the Lycans” (see one of them, featuring the fabulous Bill Nighy, above).  I am not normally a fan of vampire flicks, but this particular series really appealed.  And I love Bill Nighy as an actor.  And Michael Sheen (he stood on my dress at the BAFTAS last year.  Okay, that was irrelevant, but I couldn’t resist).

EW.com have the aforementioned stills (only three, but that’s better than nothing).  And it’s looking suitably and excitingly gothic and dark and very good.  The film is due for release in January next year and is one that I’m very much looking forward to.

For those of you who are looking forward to the film as much as I am, here’s some footage of the recent Comic-Con where the stars and director took part in a Q&A about the film (much like how Popcorn Taxi here works):

And a couple of nights ago we got another sneak peak – this time at the forthcoming Harry Potter movie “Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince” by way of the official trailer, which appeared on just about every news service and looks again – dark, slightly gothic and very cool.  (Do I detect a theme in my current movie tastes?)

And here it is just for you, dear reader.  Why not share the fun and anticipation?

I find it interesting that the kid playing Young Voldemort is in real life Ralph Fiennes’ 10-year-old nephew, Hero Fiennes-Tiffin.  According to Director, Alan Yates “The fact that he’s related to Ralph wasn’t the primary reason for choosing him.  Primarily I went for Hero because of this wonderful haunted quality.”  (Chicago Sun Times)  That, and his name is Hero.  I mean, nice twist having an actor called “Hero” playing the nemisis of the piece as a child.  (But, really, who would call their child Hero?  The teasing that kid must get at school – no wonder he has a haunted quality!).

Of course, I’m really jealous that the film is getting released in the US in November, but us poor Aussies have to wait until December to see it.  C’est la vie, I suppose.  Our fault for living on the other side of the world.

As an avid reader of the books, I will watch this film with great interest once it’s out.  I’ve kinda understood why certain things were cut or changed in the previous films (although didn’t always agree with the choices) and on the whole, quite liked the film adaptations. That said, my favourite to date is “Prisoner of Azkaban”, due, in large part, to Gary Oldman and the brilliant direction of Alfonso Cuaron. And I love Alan Rickman as “Snape” and Jason Isaacs as “Lucius”.  But let’s not get into my admiration of British actors – that topic is best saved for another post on another day.

Okay, geek moment over.

But the anticipation lingers on … 😉

Leave a Reply

