Lollapalooza – final thoughts and future plans …

I just had to share this.  In my recent post about Lollapalooza, I mentioned that Perry Farrell and Slash got up and performed on the Kidzapalooza stage together on the Sunday and I hoped that someone had a camera trained on the stage and that I’d get to see the footage.  Well, someone did and I have.  And here’s a sample for those of you who may not have seen it yet:

Yep, that’s Slash and Perry performing “Superstition”.  Classic.  Unfortunately the person filming didn’t get Perry’s introduction to the song which reportedly (according to the Time Out Blog) went something like this:

“This first song is about superstition, and how you maybe shouldn’t be afraid to check out creepy things like voodoo.”

Just classic.  I’m not sure how parents in the audience felt about their kids being encouraged to engage in an exploration of religions that involve, well, unusual practices, but I had to laugh.  There were a lot more comments along those lines from Perry as they went onto play “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door” and the Jane’s Addiction classic “Jane Says”.  They also played “Mountain Song”, but I haven’t been able to find a video of that yet.

Entertainment Weekly wrote a hilarious article about the set, which I’ll link to when I find it again.

Jeff Tweedy’s appearance (from the band Wilco) at Kidzapalooza on the Friday was another major highlight for both the grown ups and the kids.  Here’s a video of him performing “Hummingbird”:

I love the beginning when he says “hell” and corrects himself with “H-E-double toothpicks”, with the sudden realization that he’s in front of a bunch of children.  LOL.  From what I’ve heard from those who were there, it was an absolute blast and a great weekend.

So, the decision has been made – I’m going to Lollapalooza next year.  I’ve already officially arranged it and so will be in Chicago in August in 2009 at one of the biggest music festivals on the planet.

As a result, I’m now open to offers from any music mags in Australia – if you want to hire my services, I’ll be happy to write for you while I’m there (see an example of my previous life as a music reviewer/interviewer here).  Up-to-the-minute articles written on site at the the world-famous Lollapalooza music festival?  Too good to pass up.  I’m also taking a digital camera and a DV camera with me, and used to be a radio and TV presenter, so any radio or TV offers will be considered as well.  Drop me a line if you’re interested in having someone on the scene who not only loves music (and is a trained musician), but also has a background in journalism. And yes, that would be me.

For a full round up of Kidzapalooza this year, including a large collection of videos, you’ll find everything you could ever want to know at the official website.  I’m now off to watch Perry and Slash perform “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door”, courtesy of YouTube.  You’ve gotta love the ‘Net …

2 thoughts on “Lollapalooza – final thoughts and future plans …

  1. Ah, thanks Adam! While I’m not in the habit of accepting accommodation offers from people I’ve not yet met (we haven’t met, have we? Please tell me if we have!), the offer is appreciated!

    Sally

Leave a Reply

