Hellboy 2 – advance Popcorn Taxi Melbourne screening

Now, this is something I’m looking forward to – the advance Melbourne screening of the new Guillermo Del Toro (PAN’S LABYRINTH, HELLBOY) film, Hellboy II: The Golden Army, which takes place on Monday, August 18, 2008 at Cinema Nova as part of Popcorn Taxi Melbourne.

Yes, I have a vested interest – I’ll be hosting the event in Melbourne – but I am genuinely interested in seeing this latest installment in the Hellboy series – due totally to it’s director.

The man is a genius.  His films are so multi-layered, visually stunning and awesome (in the true sense of the word) in their execution.  And he really does manage to take you to another world – it’s the ultimate in escapism.

And, I’ll confess that I’m a bit of a comic book movie junkie – which means that I’m also pretty hard on the various adaptations out there (I have to admit the news that Hollywood is adapting Captain Marvel has me a little worried – wasn’t he supposed to be a generic version of DC’s Superman done by another company?  (We all know how well the last Superman movie did)  And isn’t his “normal” alter-ego a 12 year old boy?  (Shades of Harry Potter, perhaps?  Perhaps not).  And, if memory serves, DC included a character in their Superman series called “Captain Thunder” as a parody of Captain Marvel, who rubbed his belt to activate his powers yelling “Thunder!” (snicker, snicker).  I have to say that watching a character on screen that has to yell “Shazam!” – which is also the title of the upcoming film – to activate his superhero-ness could have me stifling the odd giggle.  Doesn’t bode well.  That said, William Goldman is on the writing team, so there is some hope … But I digress), but just from watching the trailer of Hellboy II, I’ll admit to being a little bit excited about this one.

So, I’m also very excited that we’re also going to be hosting a phone hook up with Guillermo Del Toro to undertake a Q & A after the screening – live from Berlin!

Oscar Hillerstrom from the Sci-Fi Channel will be conducting the interview in front of a live Sydney audience at Greater Union Bondi (who will watch the movie simultaneously with the Melbourne audience) asking Guillermo questions from both Sydney and Melbourne, which we’re coordinating via the wonder of modern technology – and it promises be a fascinating and insightful evening for all those who are a fan of Guillermo’s work.

Apart from anything else, it’s a chance to see the movie a full 10 days before it’s official Australian release on August 28 – and everyone likes to be ahead of the crowd.  Well, I know I do, anyway!

For full information about the screening, get along to the Popcorn Taxi website – and I’ll see you there!

One thought on “Hellboy 2 – advance Popcorn Taxi Melbourne screening

Leave a Reply

